Tag Archives: HOF

NEIBA Announces HOF Inductees and Awards Honorees

I am very honored and humbled to be selected as this year’s Bob Parker Memorial Award recipient by the Northeast Indiana Baseball Association. Also on that night, Jim Shovlin will be honored with the Colin Lister Award and we’ll be inducting former Major League Baseball Commissioner Ford Frick, local umpire Dave Switzer, and long-time Huntington North baseball coach Don Sherman into the Hall of Fame. For more information about this year’s ceremony or to order tickets for the November 9th event, visit the NEIBA website.

Wedge to be Among NEIBA Hall of Fame Honorees

The Northeast Indiana Baseball Association Hall of Fame will induct four new members during an awards banquet on January 29, 2010 beginning at 6:30PM at the Allen County Public Library. The four honorees will be:

  • Eric Wedge (Boston Red Sox, Colorado Rockies, Cleveland Indians)
  • Keith Shepherd (Philadelphia Phillies, Colorado Rockies, Boston Red Sox, Baltimore Orioles)
  • Gerry Tilker (35-year Wildcat official, FWUA Umpire)
  • Thomas Pillars (1928 St. Louis Cardinals, Monroeville Little League Coach and Organizer)

Pillars honor is being given posthumously and family members will be on hand to accept on his behalf. Wedge will also serve as the evening’s keynote speaker. In addition to the new HOF honors, NEIBA will also present the Bob Parker Memorial Award, given to individuals who go above and beyond to be promoters and ambassadors of the game of baseball on the local level, and the Colin Lister Award, which is given to individuals who demonstrate commitments to local youth league organization and development.

The Bob Parker Award will be presented to Dona Schaefer (Fort Wayne Daisies and AAGPBL supporter/activist and Fort Wayne Turners). The Colin Lister Award will be presented to Chuck Itt (Wallen Baseball player, coach and leader) and to Dan Eash (player and founder of the Fort Wayne Men’s’ Senior Baseball League). Tickets to the event are $25 and parking is free. Tickets must be ordered by January 24th.

They are available at Sports Center, Inc. (5511 Coventry Lane – Fort Wayne), via mail NEIBA, PO Box 40224; Fort Wayne, IN 46804 or on NEIBAseball.org (click here to request your tickets).

Doster Going into Reading Baseball Hall of Fame

Northeast Indiana Baseball Association (NEIBA) Hall of Famer, David Doster will be inducted as a member of the 2009 class of the Reading Baseball Hall of Fame on August 25th.

At age 24, as a member of the 1995 Double-A Reading Phillies, Doster paced the league in total bases, set a club record with 39 doubles, a career-high 21 home runs and earned a share of the Paul Owens Award, which is presented to the top position player in the Phillies organization. He was also selected as the second baseman on the Reading Phillies 30th anniversary team in 1996 in adition to one of the 40 Greatest Players in Reading Phillies history during the team’s 40th anniversary celebration in 2006.

the 1995 Reading squad took the Eastern League championship that year. Doster attributes that experience as one of the best of his career:

“Definitely, the championship has to be No. 1,” Doster says, pointing to the Eastern League title he helped Reading claim in 1995. “Getting called up (to the big leagues), that’s obviously a thrill. But 13 years and one championship, that’s pretty rare.”

Doster was inducted into the NEIBA Hall of Fame in 2007.

Fort Wayne Daisies’ Havlish Donates Glove to Hall of Fame

Jean Havlish, who played shortstop for the Fort Wayne Daisies in 1953 and 1954 has donated her three-finger glove to the National Baseball Hall of Fame and Museum.

“I got the glove in 1953 and played both years in the league with it,” Havlish said. “I even used it playing catch up to this year, and it’s in pretty good shape. I hated to part with it because it was a part of me, but I am very happy to have it in Cooperstown. It is overwhelming.”

Read more at the Hall of Fame’s website. Hat tip to Dan at OMGReds.com for referring the link.

NEIBA HOF Banquet – May 17th – Get Your Tickets!!!

The Northeast Indiana Baseball Association (NEIBA) will host its annual Hall of Fame Awards Banquet on Saturday, May 17, 2008 at the Allen County Public Library at 6:30PM. Fort Wayne native and popular local radio personality, Tony Richards will serve as this year’s keynote speaker. NEIBA Board member and Fort Wayne Wizards Public Address Announcer, Jim Shovlin takes on duties as this year’s emcee.

In addition to a change of venue, this year’s evening will include a dinner, door prizes and the induction of three new members of the local Hall of Fame. This year’s inductees include Doug Bair, Dick Crumback and Bill Derbyshire. Ella Hardiek and Isabel Alvarez will receive this year’s Colin Lister Award and Bob Parker Memorial awards respectively.

Tickets are $25 per person. Visit NEIBA.org for more info. Contact me if you are interested in attending.