Category Archives: FWMSBL

Shovlin in HOF

Jim Shovlin, the current Fort Wayne Mens’ Senior Baseball League treasurer and 14 year league member, was recently inducted into the MSBL Hall of Fame during the World Series in Arizona. The MSBL Hall of Fame began in 1997 with 11 inductees, and the hall is currently home to 33 past and present players, presidents and umpires. Shovlin is only the second HOF member from the state of Indiana. [content for this post was obtained at the FWMSBL website where you can read more]

Shovlin is also the Fort Wayne Wizards Public Address Announcer.

Sorry for not posting this sooner Jim. Thanks for all you do to promote and encourage the sport’s role in our community.

[tags]Jim Shovlin, FWMSBL[/tags]

Fort Wayne Rangers Come Home Champions

The Fort Wayne Rangers: 2006 MSBL Champions

The Fort Wayne Rangers went down to Florida for the Fall Classic and came home champions after putting together a 7-1 record. Their only loss in the tournament came at the hands of Puerto Rico (6-4) – but the Rangers found revenge by defeating Puerto Rico 13-1 in the championship game.

The team, managed by Randy Moss, competed in the 28+ Central Division, which is held at Major League Baseball spring training complexes in St. Petersburg, Tampa and the surrounding area. Having finished fifth the year before, it is a gratifying win for the team.

The Rangers are one of twelve teams in the , and compiled a 13-3 regular season record. It is the first Fort Wayne MSBL team to gain a national championship in 15 years of existence. Congratulations Rangers!

Pictured above are the Fort Wayne Rangers. Front row left to right, Dan McQuire, Jeff Hiers, Randy Moss, Jeff Willey, Phill Petrick, Matt Zehring and Mark Phipps; back row, Andy Joseph, Jay Buelow, Ryan Dellinger, Joe Bogdon, Mike Hollansworth, Jeremy Ummel and Dale Drasny. Also on the team were John Haney, Rod Moss and Jeremy Sassanella.

11/22/06 Journal Gazette Article; .